Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
10

Nothing is ever everything.

A 3-minute Video with Transcription
10

My Sacred Bali Retreat with David Gandelman is just two months away, and there are only a few spots left. Come spend a week in Bali with us in May. Meditation. Breathwork. Self-love. Community. Nature. I can promise you it will be unforgettable.


Hi Friends,

I recorded the above video several weeks ago, after a day filled with emotional lows and highs. Please listen to it, especially if you find yourself getting consumed by all the heaviness on our planet. I’m lit by a handful of battery-operated candles, so forgive the very dim lighting. Though it works with the message.

Here’s the transcription:

So I'm coming at you by fake candlelight. I had a moment earlier this evening — and these moments happen with regularity, I would say — when everything felt so dark and so oppressive. It was like this heavy, heavy cloud right behind me that was threatening to consume me. And I felt like I wasn't sure I was going to be able to outrun it. Like sometimes I'm riding that edge of feeling okay or even down but then on the other side of that edge is this feeling of heaviness that feels so extreme. It's like I don't see how to come back from it, or I can't imagine how I would if the cloud actually overtook me. That's the fear in the moment.

And then, moments ago, I just put on some music and was just dancing and my heart felt so open. I guided breathwork tonight and feel really open-hearted right now. I felt this bliss, these waves of bliss overtake me as I was dancing. I thought about the heavy cloud that shows up sometimes and how when it shows up, it feels like it's the only thing that is there, like it takes over everything else.

But then when I was feeling this bliss tonight, I was reminded, no, of course, the heaviest of clouds isn't ever going to be the only thing because there are any number of realities that are existing at the same time. Like that bliss that I was feeling as I was dancing tonight, just ten minutes ago, is a bliss, a joy, that is always there. Even if I'm not able to access it, it is always there. It can never be completely shrouded by any level of heaviness.

Joy is an energy that’s alive.

Creativity is an energy that’s alive.

Love is an energy that's alive.

Gratitude is an energy that's alive.

These things, even when we can't access them, they don't go anywhere. They're always there. It can be so helpful to remember, especially when we're feeling so dark and so heavy about this insane world, to remember that the ugliest things we can imagine here are never the only things that exist here.

There is always beauty too.

There's always joy.

There's always compassion.

There's always love.

And remembering that is going to be a thing that helps us, one, be with the heaviness when it comes, but also helps us give energy to the beauty and the love and the compassion, and knowing that when we do, it builds on itself.

It grows.

It's living.

It's expanding.

We have a say in that.

Anyway, that's what I'm thinking about.

Sending you so much love,

Scott

Leave a comment

Bigger Love is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


Join me and David Gandelman in Bali from May 4th - 11th. Details HERE.

10 Comments
Bigger Love with Scott Stabile
Bigger Love with Scott Stabile
Written, audio and video reflections and meditations on personal growth, spiritual well-being, and loving the hell out of ourselves and our world.