Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
6

You. Me. Us.

A reading, with transcription, from Enough as You Are.
6

Upcoming Events:

Detroit Area Folks: Join me for a live Breathwork Journey in Wyandotte this Sunday, March 24th: Details & Registration HERE.

Just six weeks until the Sacred Bali retreat, and there’s still time to join us. Details & Registration HERE.


Video Transcription:

Hello there, Friends,

Today I want to share with you three short excerpts from my book, Enough As You Are. The book, as some of you know, is divided into three sections: a YOU section, a ME section, and an US section. I’ve chosen one piece from each of the sections that I want to read, because each of these pieces, the energy in each of these pieces, is resonant with what I'm thinking about and feeling these days.

So let's go to the YOU section first.

You never know when you’ll be the person who ignites an awakening in someone else. That’s why it’s so important to weave kindness and love into our interactions as often as possible. It may be in the advice you give your dearest friend or the unfiltered smile you offer to some stranger at the store. It may be your willingness to stop whatever it is you’re doing to listen or the way in which you allow your eyes to rest on another without judgment. You can’t predict when you will be the catalyst for something wonderful to light up another human being, but there will be many such moments when your love and compassion are just what someone needs to feel understood, and okay, and inspired. To feel seen.

And now we're moving on to the ME section:

There are too many reasons to be angry, and I will not live my life in rage. Enraged. Anger is a necessary and powerful emotion when I allow myself to feel it, with- out becoming it. Without letting it suffocate all the other feelings, without letting it convince me that to be joyful in this time in this world is a crime. Anger is a beautiful catalyst for change, but on its own it can’t create healing. Only love can do that. Only that which comes from love can heal. I will not shy away from my anger, or blind myself to the myriad injustices that compel it, but I will continue to remind myself that angry is just one of many ways to feel, and I am here to feel so much more than just angry. And when I am riding the waves of rage, I will continue to invite love in and see what possibilities it is able to create with all my anger.

Share Bigger Love with Scott Stabile

And lastly, from the US section of my book, Enough As You Are:

When we pray for peace around the world, let’s not forget to pray for peace within ourselves. Who will listen to a prayer for peace from those who refuse to model it, from those who lack empathy and compassion, from those always ready for a fight? Peace cannot come from war, and we are all at war with ourselves, and with each other. We have to be willing to confront our own hypocrisies when we pray for peace, to unbury all internal resistance to that call so our prayers will not be muddied by our own unwilling- ness to rest in love. Where within ourselves are we too ag- gressors? Where are we unwilling to empathize? Where do we wish for harm to come to those we dislike or don’t agree with? Let us become the living examples of the peace we want to see in our world, and then watch how our prayers are magnified, how war cannot endure within the energy of love we together have cocreated. Prayers alone won’t do it. We cannot root out war in our world until we root it out in ourselves. Until we return to love.

Those are some of the themes I'm thinking about and feeling into today and generally. I hope that by reading them to you, sharing them with you, maybe you’ll feel a little less alone, a little bit more connected. Sending you so much love.

Enough as You Are is available right now. You're welcome to get it, to share it, to review it. All of those things are really helpful for me as the author. And thanks for sharing your energy here.

Please let me know how these readings landed for you and what they brought up for you, and any of your own wisdom, your own thoughts and feelings that you'd like to share. I always look forward to reading them.

Leave a comment

Wishing each of you a peaceful weekend, filled with moments of connection and joy, and with so much love.

Scott

Bigger Love is a reader-supported publication. Please consider becoming a free or paid subscriber. Thank you!

6 Comments
Bigger Love with Scott Stabile
Bigger Love with Scott Stabile
Written, audio and video reflections and meditations on personal growth, spiritual well-being, and loving the hell out of ourselves and our world.